Friday, July 29, 2011

Janna van Hasselt in Avenues magazine

Janna's solo exhibition 'playlist' is at seed gallery from 14 September - 1 October 2011

Eden Arts Art Schools Award

The Eden Arts Trust announced the winners of the inaugural Eden Arts Art Schools Award on Thursday 28 July 2011. The Overall Winner received $5,000 in prize money and the three Highly Commended students each received $1,000. Kate Mullins from Seed had the privilege of being on the judging panel for the awards.

Award recipients from L to R: Dominic Oldrey, Chelsea Rothbart, Donna Summers (Overall winner) and Loretta Walton.

The Eden Arts Art Schools Award brought together for the first time Central Auckland's four major art institutions: Elam School of Fine Arts, Unitec, AUT and Whitecliffe. Six undergraduate students were selected from each school. The award exhibition, hosted this year by Elam, is open for public viewing at projectspace B431 (20 Whitaker Place) and the George Fraser Gallery (25a Princes Street) from Friday 29 July to Saturday 6 August, 11am - 4pm (closed Sunday).

Above, the judges: National Business Review arts writer John Daly-Peoples, new Artspace Director, Caterina Riva and Kate Mullins.